Funeral Potatoes (served at the funeral of a long lost Colorado girl)

13 Jun

These so-called “funeral potatoes” have been in my family for many years and they have become a staple at all our family gatherings since before I can remember…To be honest, I’m not even really sure where the name comes from but I do know that this dish has been served at a good chunk of the funerals I’ve been to over my lifetime…

The recipe is a simple one. But, truth be told, you can find a very similar one on the back of an Ore-Ida bag. Pretend I didn’t mention the previous point because I like to think this is some sort of top secret family recipe that has been passed down for generations. Wherever it came from, I know one thing- this recipe brings me home, and that’s all that really matters to me.

Obviously, these potatoes have been on my mind. When I thought about what to post today, two things kept coming up. Funeral potatoes and being homesick for Colorado. Well, perfect- the two naturally come together…

I made these infamous funeral potatoes a couple weeks back at a party we had. As I was mixing and stirring up all of the ingredients, I couldn’t help but think about CO. It’s been almost five years now since I have lived there, and I’m starting to feel like that part of me is getting lost (hence the title: funeral of a long lost Colorado girl). Don’t get me wrong, my life here in Boston is fun and it’s an experience everyone should have. But, I’m in dire need of laid back-ness. I miss home. I miss home so much  it hurts.

So, I’ve made it my mission, starting today, to remember my Colorado roots more often and start incorporating my “Colorado self” into my everyday life. I cannot forget that Colorado girl. I cannot forget the landscape that taught me about spirituality and God. I cannot forget the people who shaped me into who I am today. I cannot forget the unforgettable experiences I have had from growing up in CO.

I DO NOT want to have a funeral for the Colorado girl in me. I want her to live and live loudly (and proudly). So, I’ll start by making funeral potatoes, tonight. :)

Here’s the infamous, VERY TOP SECRET, cannot be found anywhere recipe:

2 lbs frozen hash browns (I use the diced kind)
1 stick of butter
1/2 (10 1/2 ounce) can cream of chicken soup

1/2 (10 1/2 ounce) can cream of mushroom soup
1 cup sour cream
1 cup shredded cheddar cheese
1/4 cup diced onion

1 cup corn flakes (crushed)
salt and pepper, to taste
Directions:

1. Defrost potatoes, melt half of the butter, and mix together all ingredients (except corn flakes- those are for the topping).

2. Melt second half of butter and mix with corn flakes. Place on top of the casserole.
3. Bake at 350 degrees for 1 hour in a 9×13 baking dish

PS.- Try crumbling 1/2c bacon on the top. :)

Oh, and I just had to add this…

4 Responses to “Funeral Potatoes (served at the funeral of a long lost Colorado girl)”

  1. Anonymous June 13, 2013 at 11:34 am #

    They are the best!! Wish you were back home and I know you are looking forward to the family coming in July.

    • Daria December 14, 2013 at 4:43 am #

      In retrospect, I think the book might have been more riacst than the movie (though more blatant racial slur riacst than offensive stereotype riacst ).And that scene sounds horrendous! (Especially considering that Capote intentionally left the country during while the movie was being filmed). When I was kid, my aunt actually tried to explain the significance of the cat to me (again, after the character had already explained it in the movie) and I was like, no fucking, duh! (except I’m sure I didn’t actually say that because I was generally a polite respectful child). The cat is obvious, everyone. On a related note, I did love the movie growing up, and went through a phase where I called all cats (whether I knew their names or not) cat until someone told me to quit it because it sounded like I was talking to myself.

  2. maryLou July 9, 2013 at 9:05 am #

    we will be seeing you and Jeff,tomorrow,can’ hardly wait. Iam so excited to see you and Jeff.

    • Tami December 15, 2013 at 3:49 am #

      Aah, 1994. I was born, and there were good films around. Shawshank Redemption and Four Weddings and a Funeral are prlbaboy my favourites. Even though usually, I don’t really approve of the majority of Hugh Grant’s films, apart from Love Actually and Music Lyrics Anyway, babbling over.

Leave a Reply

Free Eats

Eating Free.....Gluten-Free, Corn-Free and almost always Dairy-Free

Green Door Hospitality

Adventures in Everyday Entertaining

EmmyBee

Bee who you want to Bee

Modern Mrs. Cleaver

Old-Fashioned Living With A Modern Spin...

The Foodies

Traditional and New Recipes for All Food Lovers

Life is Short. Eat hard!

Our Endless Search for Fantastic Food!

sageandclareblog.wordpress.com/

A visual diary on fashion, photography, interiors, lifestyle, travel, styling and our daily adventures x

